A is for Autism

It was suggested to me by my mentor Suky Best that I should watch the video ‘A is for Autism’ as it is about someone’s experience of having autism and she is interested to see my work give an insight into the experience of being dyslexic. The video is an animation of doodles and pictures drawn by autistic children with sound recordings and text explaining how it can feel to have autism. Seeing the hand drawn pictures whilst hearing the voice recordings made me feel as a viewer that I was accessing someone’s personal thoughts. The video was a good form of communication for people with autism to make and watch because their social difficulties can mean that they prefer this kind faceless communication. I feel the form of my project will also suit the topic of dyslexia because it will use photography as a visual language allowing them to free themselves of written language whilst they tell their stories.

Below is the video:

Leave a comment

Filed under Final Major Project

Leave a Reply

