Wendy Ewald

During the development of my research it was mentioned to me that Wendy Ewald might be a good person to look at as she carried out a project asking children to photograph their dreams, and I am looking at different ways that children with dyslexia can express themselves rather than reading and writing.

Wendy Ewald was born in 1951. She became an American photographer and educator. She combines photography and education (two of the things that I am interested in) in her work, which is directed toward “helping children to see” and using the “camera as a tool for expression”.

After studying photography at Antioch College and Massachusetts Institute of Technology, she embarked on a career teaching photography to children and young people. Since 1969 she has taught photography and film making to children from a variety of backgrounds including Native-American children and children of community groups in India.

I was particularly interested in her “Literacy through Photography” programmes that she carried out in Houston, Texas and Durham, North Carolina. In these workshops she shares her experience from when she worked with young children encouraging them to express themselves through photography so that other teachers can use the techniques in education. She provides hands-on instruction in simple black-and-white photography to prepare others to teach children in a clear and concise way. This style of learning is well suited to children with dyslexia who often prefer an alternative method of communication to just reading and writing. Wendy also became  one of the founders of the Half Moon Photography Workshop in the East of London and in 1989.

She is currently senior research associate at the Center for Documentary Studies at Duke University.

 

I emailed The author Wendy Ewald telling her how interesting I found her work and that I could see alink wit h the work that I was doing with dyslexic children. I wanted to ask her a the following questions;

1. How did you become interested in working with children using photography as a tool?

2. Were you always planning to have workshop lessons or did this come about through interest of you doing your own workshop lessons with the children?

3. Are there any key people that have influenced you with this idea?

 

She kindly replied back and recommended that I look at her book ” I wanna take me a picture”  I am presently looking at this book and intend to email her back with my thoughts.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Phonar

Leave a Reply

