Final letter to self.

Dear Larissa,

I am coming to the end of my first year and I feel that I have achieved a lot. I have made a lot of good friends that I think I will be good friends with for a long time to come. I speak to everyone in the class and it is really good to be around people that share the same interests as me.

I have learnt a lot of new skills, I have learnt how to use film cameras, medium format cameras, dark rooms, and various types of programs on the computer such as adobe photoshop, adobe dreamweaver, and adobe premiere pro. And at the moment I am learning how to use the studio and lighting.

You will be happy to hear that I have passed two modules and an advantage course. My last module at the moment is very hard work but I am enjoying it. I love learning new things.

Aswell as this I got all my dyslexia support in place in the end. It was hard in the first term as I did not have any dyslexia equipment or note takers. But once my support came through my work has got better and I feel more confident.

Throughout the year I have grown more in confidence with my friends and lecturers about my dyslexia, and I feel that I have been very reflective over the year about my problems that I had in my past.

At the beginning of the year I was getting upset in class because my support was not there, but now I feel that I can hold myself together in class when maybe my note takers are sick, or they put a subtitled film on, and this is a big step. I can even ask my friends to take notes.

The one thing that I really enjoy about this degree is having lecturers in the industry. They have taught me a lot of new skills and really want us to succeed.

I feel in my photography now, now I have the skills that I can go out there and photograph what I see or what I want to portray. I still feel that I have a lot to learn, but this will all come in time. All I know is the more I learn, the better my images and knowledge will become.

I feel I have the skills now to be more confident in taking out projects than I was at the beginning of the year. Also I feel more confident in giving feedback to my peers and talking in discussions in class.

University has inspired me to reach for the impossible and to do things I never thought I could.  It has taught me never to give up and just try and give it a go.

From

Larissa Grace

Leave a comment

Filed under ., Personal Professional Development

Leave a Reply

