My experience of street photography

We were given a task to re-visit the streets where we had previously photographed and to take portraits of people. When going back to these streets I found it hard to photograph people so I decided to take photos of people moving around. From doing this I came across a particular person that made himself very clear that he did not want his photograph taken, and had told me that I hadnt taken his photograph. From me trying to explain to him that I hadn’t and that I was trying to get shots of people moving about, and that I was using  a pin-hole camera so the images wouldn’t be as clear as a normal lens, and that all that was happening to these images would be that they would appear in my sketchbook and not on the internet. He was still not happy and told me to give him the film, I tried persuading with him further and showed him my student ID, but he still didn’t want to know.  He said that I should’ve used a digital camera so that I could prove I hadn’t taken his photo and could delete anything that he wasn’t happy with, but because I had not he wanted the whole film.  So after trying to persuade him to see that this would be affecting my university work he still didn’t care. So I gave him the film, and he walked off. And there was one pissed off Larissa left.

2 Comments

Filed under ., Personal Professional Development

2 responses to “My experience of street photography

  1. Very unfortunate that this happened to you. I think it’s important that you don’t get discouraged though, I’ve seen you work, and you have a good and confident approach, especially with street photography. Keep it up, lets see some pics on here.

    For future reference – the law is unclear with photography, but if you are in a public place you have the right to photograph whatever and whoever you like, and those photos belong solely to you. It’s only a problem if you invade peoples private space (photograph through windows) or disturb them (get in their face) or block the walkway with potential tripping hazard (tripod in the middle of a pavement).

  2. Pingback: Far Gosford Street « Ria Joynes's Blog

Leave a Reply

